Outlook requiring consent to delete Gmail emails when you do so in Outlook

  • -

Outlook requiring consent to delete Gmail emails when you do so in Outlook

The main thing that is happening is that Outlook is enabling OAuth for Gmail and this updates how the sign-in works for Google accounts in Outlook.

As part of this, Google will ask for your consent to allow Outlook to perform actions on your behalf. Prior to this upgrade, Outlook was able to use your credentials directly to perform operations like deleting email when you click the delete button. The new sign-in model is more modern, and includes a consent screen that outlines access that Outlook already had prior to this upgrade. Nothing has otherwise changed in Outlook or in the access it needs to your Gmail account for you to use Outlook with Gmail.

While I certainly understand how the privacy-minded language in the consent screen can give cause for concern, not much has really changed under the covers, and this access is required to enable Outlook’s basic functionality with Gmail


We Accept

Leave me a review on Trust Pilot

Home-Computing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

How do you rate Home Computing?

Like My Services on Facebook

A2Z Tradies Directory Please send me an email if otherwise so I can rectify the matter

Cart

Give us a wave if you see us!

Home computer repairs and virus removal services

For all your Electrical Work Call Ryan

Knight Power

NO Call Out Fee
We cover the entire Gold Coast
We turn up on time

Call Ryan on
0424 195 705

Tell him Howard sent you

Relaxation and Resilience For Kids - Need Help -->

Call Now Button